Author Topic: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)  (Read 329 times)

JCE3000GT

  • Master of FF4
  • *
  • Posts: 1,425
  • Gender: Male
  • Vladof
    • View Profile
    • BlitzKrieg Innovations
    Ok so in my mod I had planned on using the Lore spell menu exclusively.  But, I'm running in to a few problems that maybe I could see if anyone had solutions to already.  So what I'm trying to accomplish is below.

    • I have spells that are up to 14 digits long for their name including the spell icon tile.  Teleportation would be my longest spell name needed minus the icon.
    • I want to use a spell menu that is a single column with 1 spell per row like how Lore has.  I could do a two column spell menu but I really need at least 14 total digits in length for spell names. 
    • I want to be able to use curative and teleport spells outside battle with it as well. 

I am not completely set in stone to use the Lore menu, I just assumed it was pretty close to what I wanted minus using spells outside of battle so I'd start there.  But, I'd be open to a completely new from scratch magic menu or a modification of another menu that meets my needs above + using the Lore casting animation/sound.  Has anyone done any of these things mentioned and or can at least point me in the right direction?  My menu knowledge is all with FF4 so this is alien territory for me in FF6.  :)
« Last Edit: June 02, 2017, 06:26:50 PM by JCE3000GT »

JCE3000GT

  • Master of FF4
  • *
  • Posts: 1,425
  • Gender: Male
  • Vladof
    • View Profile
    • BlitzKrieg Innovations
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2017, 02:51:14 PM »
*bump*

Anyone?

thepatirckinator

  • Mom Bomb
  • *
  • Posts: 124
  • Gender: Male
  • God bless you all!
    • View Profile
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2017, 04:15:23 PM »
Oh, Hello there!

Lenophis

  • Forum Overlord
  • *
  • Posts: 1,680
  • Gender: Male
  • I sad
    • View Profile
    • Slick Productions
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2017, 01:19:14 AM »
I have spells that are up to 14 digits long for their name including the spell icon tile.  Teleportation would be my longest spell name needed minus the icon.
This is easy, and IIRC you should already have a patch that allows this.

Quote
I want to use a spell menu that is a single column with 1 spell per row like how Lore has.  I could do a two column spell menu but I really need at least 14 total digits in length for spell names.
I can't imagine this being difficult to pull off, but I haven't personally done it.

Quote
I want to be able to use curative and teleport spells outside battle with it as well.
The spell data should(?) should be able to do that, but if it's Lore it might(?) need some assembly to get working? Maybe not? I dunno.

119 bugs fixed and counting.

JCE3000GT

  • Master of FF4
  • *
  • Posts: 1,425
  • Gender: Male
  • Vladof
    • View Profile
    • BlitzKrieg Innovations
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2017, 03:39:24 PM »
I have spells that are up to 14 digits long for their name including the spell icon tile.  Teleportation would be my longest spell name needed minus the icon.
This is easy, and IIRC you should already have a patch that allows this.

Hmmm, maybe I'm brain dead.  I cannot find the patch.  :(

Quote
Quote
I want to use a spell menu that is a single column with 1 spell per row like how Lore has.  I could do a two column spell menu but I really need at least 14 total digits in length for spell names.
I can't imagine this being difficult to pull off, but I haven't personally done it.

Any advice on how to attempt it?

Quote
I want to be able to use curative and teleport spells outside battle with it as well.
The spell data should(?) should be able to do that, but if it's Lore it might(?) need some assembly to get working? Maybe not? I dunno.[/quote]

I wonder if it is possible to use the Lore casting animation on the magic menu instead if I can get the longer names to work?

Lenophis

  • Forum Overlord
  • *
  • Posts: 1,680
  • Gender: Male
  • I sad
    • View Profile
    • Slick Productions
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2017, 06:09:24 PM »
Any advice on how to attempt it?
Most of the changes you want are outside the scope of the engine of the game. It's relatively simple if you know assembly, but outside of that it would be impossible since no editor can do it.

Quote
I wonder if it is possible to use the Lore casting animation on the magic menu instead if I can get the longer names to work?
Possible, sure. But you have the same problem as above. Luckily the spells and lores all use the same data, so finding where in the range of that data each is won't be as difficult.

I have this distinct impression you've attempted/done this before...

119 bugs fixed and counting.

JCE3000GT

  • Master of FF4
  • *
  • Posts: 1,425
  • Gender: Male
  • Vladof
    • View Profile
    • BlitzKrieg Innovations
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2017, 08:26:42 PM »
Any advice on how to attempt it?
Most of the changes you want are outside the scope of the engine of the game. It's relatively simple if you know assembly, but outside of that it would be impossible since no editor can do it.

Quote
I wonder if it is possible to use the Lore casting animation on the magic menu instead if I can get the longer names to work?
Possible, sure. But you have the same problem as above. Luckily the spells and lores all use the same data, so finding where in the range of that data each is won't be as difficult.

I have this distinct impression you've attempted/done this before...

Good memory Leno.  I attempted some of this four years ago before I retired.  :D  I'm a bit rusty still so I've resorted to asking dumb questions.  LOL

Madsiur

  • Magissa & Forza
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Gender: Male
  • FF6AE coder
    • View Profile
    • Madsiur's Lair
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2017, 01:30:33 PM »
I have spells that are up to 14 digits long for their name including the spell icon tile.

With the 1 column menu you could push this to 16 and even more but you'd have to consider other place that display a spell name (which is the ability menu and esper menu only?). If you want to have a 1 column spell menu outside battle, you could maybe even double the original max length of the spell name. You could even have 2 sets of names, one for battle and one for outside battle menus.

I could look at this after the day / night cycle. FIY the "Restored Ability Names" patch does make this changes but also a lot of other names related expansions that were in Pandora's Box. But if you want to expand only spell names and do your other menu changes, you're better doing it from scratch.

JCE3000GT

  • Master of FF4
  • *
  • Posts: 1,425
  • Gender: Male
  • Vladof
    • View Profile
    • BlitzKrieg Innovations
Re: Lets discuss the Lore magic or magic menus in general (FF6 SNES)
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2017, 09:15:56 AM »
I have spells that are up to 14 digits long for their name including the spell icon tile.

With the 1 column menu you could push this to 16 and even more but you'd have to consider other place that display a spell name (which is the ability menu and esper menu only?). If you want to have a 1 column spell menu outside battle, you could maybe even double the original max length of the spell name. You could even have 2 sets of names, one for battle and one for outside battle menus.

I could look at this after the day / night cycle. FIY the "Restored Ability Names" patch does make this changes but also a lot of other names related expansions that were in Pandora's Box. But if you want to expand only spell names and do your other menu changes, you're better doing it from scratch.

Thanks Madsiur.  There won't be any Espers so that's not an issue.  I'll only need to come up with the ability menu, battle menu, and popup box with the spell name in battle.  I think the hardest part is making the Magic menu a single column.  With Teleportation being my longest spell name I don't think I'll need 16 digits in length but I suppose it is a nice round (hex) number to work with.  :D